Realtime blog trackingweb stats
  Loading... Please wait...

Bill Teegins Excellence in Broadcasting Award


 ESPN Analyst Michele Smith Named Bill Teegins Excellence in Sportscasting Award winner

OKLAHOMA CITY, DECEMBER 18, 2013 Organizers of the Warren Spahn Award Gala announced today that ESPN Lead Color Analyst for Women’s College Softball, Michele Smith, is the 2013 Bill Teegins Excellence in Sportscasting Award

The award, given annually to an outstanding sportscaster with Oklahoma ties, will be presented at the 2014 Warren Spahn Award Gala on January 28 in Oklahoma City. The Gala is hosted by Oklahoma City’s Bricktown Rotary Club and the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame.

Smith is the first female recipient of the award that was established to honor Bill Teegins, former play-by-play announcer for the Oklahoma State football and men’s basketball teams. Teegins died tragically in a 2001 plane crash along with nine other OSU basketball players and support personnel.

"Winning the Bill Teegins Award for Excellence in Broadcasting is a true honor. Most athletes are known for their accomplishments on the field, but winning this
award truly means a lot to me and honors all the hard work that my broadcast teammates and I put into air the best show possible game in and game
out,” Smith said upon learning of her selection. “Bill Teegins spent his life loving sports and sharing his passion of sports with those watching OU and OSU games. To be recognized for any award with his name on it is truly humbling."

Smith, a two-time gold medal winning pitcher for the United States Olympic softball team, has served as ESPN’s lead analyst for women’s softball since 1998. She also acted as an Olympic analyst for NBC during the 2008 Beijing games. In 2012, Smith was the first female analyst to ever call a Major League Baseball game. The game, airing on TBS, was between the Los Angeles Dodgers and Atlanta Braves.

In addition to her success as an analyst, Smith is also a highly decorated former athlete. During her 23 year playing career, she won two Olympic gold medals, three World Championship gold medals, two Pan American Games gold medals, four Outstanding Pitcher awards, and one MVP award as the starting pitcher for Oklahoma State at the 1989 Big Eight Tournament. She is a member of the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame, the Oklahoma State University Alumni Hall of Fame, the American Softball Association (ASA) Softball Hall of Fame, and was named Sportswoman of the Year by the ASA and the United States Olympic Committee in both 1990 and 1994.

“Michele Smith not only competed and won at the highest levels possible during her playing days, she has successfully broken through barriers to reach the pinnacle of broadcasting for national networks, and she has stayed there due to her professionalism and palpable connection with her audience,” said Randy Cassimus, chair of the Teegins Award selection committee. “The committee and the Teegins family are very excited to be able to honor Michele with this year’s award.”

Previous Teegins Award winners include John Anderson, John Brooks, Bob Carpenter, Joe Simpson, Bob Barry Sr., Dave Hunziker, Merv Johnson, Bobby Murcer, Curt Gowdy, Ross Porter, Bill Mercer, and John Rooney.

Sign up for our newsletter

View Cart Go To Checkout